Summer 2004

The Toni Stone Innovative Initiative Awards
by anonymous

Toni Stone
Since 1996, CTCNet has presented the Innovative Initiative award to the leaders behind outstanding and innovative new programs, as a way of recognizing special contributions made by an individual at a CTCNet center, demonstrating innovation in the field and a commitment to impacting people's lives. In 2003, the award was renamed the Toni Stone Innovative Initiative Award. The award is presented each year at the Annual CTCNet Conference.

In a moving presentation at the 12th Annual Conference in Washington, DC, the founder of the award, Tim Barclay, gave the award to Jenny Pierce, praising her dedication and commitment to her work. Jenny is Director of the AIDS Library and Critical Path Projects at Philadelphia FIGHT. These programs provide a continuum of services to people with HIV, those at high risk, and those living in communities at risk so that they are able to access the Internet, learn how to use this powerful tool to meet their own goals, and communicate with each other through personal email and discussion lists.

Previous recipients of the award are:

2002: Dee Albritton
Fast Forward
Columbia, SC

2001: Karen Chi Chung
Boat People S.O.S.
Camden, NJ

2000: Nancy Montana
La Plaza Telecommunity Foundation
Taos, NM

1998-1999 (joint winners):
Jackie Ziglar
Garfield F. Childs Memorial Fund
Richmond, VA
Bill Callahan
West Side Community Computer Center
Cleveland, OH

1997: Josh Merrow
El Puente Academy for Peace and Social Justice
Brooklyn, NY

1996: Marcia Snowden
New Beginnings Learning Center
Pittsburgh, PA

Post a comment

Remember personal info?

* Denotes required field.