TIIAP Coalition
Home ] In This Issue ] Search the Review ] National ] Libraries ] States and Local ] Rural ] New Directions ]

Ann Wrixon
Leslie Harris
Aki Namioka
Anthony Wilhelm
Audrie Krause
Hughes and Grunwald
TIIAP Coalition
CTC Campaign

Broad Coalition Supports the Federal Department of Commerce TIIAP Program
The letter was posted on the Benton Foundation's Up For Grabs Discussion Forum by Jason Boehlert the day after it was mailed. To subscribe to the Benton discussion list (which also includes the daily Headlines service), send email to: listserv@cdinet.com, and in the body of the message, type only: subscribe upforgrabs-L YourFirstName YourLastName.

The following letter was sent to House and Senate chairs and ranking members of the Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, State, the Judiciary and Related Agencies, Committee on Appropriations on April 20, 1999.

The Honorable Harold Rogers, Chairman

The Honorable Jose Serrano, Ranking Member

The Honorable Judd Gregg, Chairman

The Honorable Ernest F. Hollings, Ranking Member

On behalf of a diverse coalition of economic and community development, health care, education, cultural, disability, civic liberties and other civic organizations, we are writing to strongly urge your support for the Administration's FY 2000 budget request for $20 million for the Telecommunications and Information Infrastructure Assistance Program (TIIAP). The Administration's moderate request for this very important program is a small increase over the FY 1999 appropriated level.

TIIAP is a matching grant program that brings the benefits of advanced information and telecommunications technologies to rural and other underserved communities. The grants make possible innovative projects that no other federal agencies support. For example, these projects give medical lifelines to homebound elders in isolated rural areas; they create networks of community agencies working together to prevent child abuse; they help bring the resources of the Internet to our nation's most distressed schools and isolated classrooms; and they give inner-city neighborhood residents the tools to strengthen their local economies. The program stimulates crosscutting community-wide partnerships and, through its matching funds requirement, creates lasting public-private partnerships.

This merit-based, exceptionally competitive program has an outstanding track record of supporting highly successful projects that serve as models for the rest of the nation. A recent independent evaluation of the program showed that 90% of projects funded in 1994 and 1995 are still operating and that each TIIAP grant dollar generated another four dollars to support information infrastructure development. The same study found that the projects are having a widespread impact — 79,000 organizations contacted TIIAP-funded projects to request information.

We strongly urge you to provide full funding in the FY 2000 budget for this highly effective program that is strengthening how communities learn, care for our sick, control crime, and create opportunities for people most in need.


Signers to the Letter

Alliance for Community Media

Alliance for Public Technology

Alliance on Information and Referral Systems (Seattle, WA)

American Arts Alliance

American Association of Museums

American Association of School Administrators (AASA)

Americans for Indian Opportunity (AIO)

American Library Association

American Symphony Orchestra League

American Telemedicine Association

Annenberg Rural Challenge (Columbia, MO)

Appalachian Center for Economic Networks (Athens, OH)

Appalachian College Association (Berea, KY)

Association of Art Museum Directors

Association of Performing Arts Presenters

Association of Research Libraries

Association of Science-Technology Centers

Bonnie Bracey-Pearl Software Educational Foundation (Valley Forge, PA)

California Foundation on the Environment and the Economy

Center for Law and Social Policy

Civil Rights Forum on Communications Policy

Communications Workers of America

Consortium for School Networking

Council of Chief State School Officers

Eastern Maine Development Corporation (Bangor, ME)

Eastmont Computing Center/Oakland, CA Citizen's Committee for Urban Renewal (Oakland, CA)


The Family Connection of St. Joseph County, Inc. (South Bend, IN)

Fiberhood Networks, Inc. (Palo Alto, CA)

Global Village Detroit (Detroit, MI)

Institute for Global Communications

Iowa Rural Development Council

Jefferson County Public Schools (Louisville, KY)

Juneau Economic Development Council (Juneau, AK)

Land-of-Sky Regional Council (Asheville, NC)

LatinoNet (Mountain View, CA)

Leadership Conference on Civil Rights

Media Access Project

Minnesota Rural Partners

National Assembly of State Arts Agencies

National Association of Development Organizations (NADO)

National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)

National Association of Secondary School Principals

National Association of Towns and Townships (NATaT)

National Education Association

National Farmers Union

National Grange

National Rural Education Association

National Rural Health Association

National School Boards Association

National Urban League

Native American Public Telecommunications

OMB Watch

Research, Resource and Economic Development Community Preservation and

Development Corporation (Washington, DC)

Traill County Economic Development Commission (Mayville, ND)

cc: The Honorable Ted Stevens

The Honorable Pete V. Domenici

The Honorable Mitch McConnell

The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison

The Hon. Ben Nighthorse Campbell

The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye

The Honorable Frank R. Lautenberg

The Honorable Barbara Mikulski

The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy